top of page

Pricing Your Artwork

Many people, including friends, have asked me what I charge or what I ask for when it comes to my artwork. When I answer them, they are either disheartened or get extremely upset about the cost. I understand that prices can be more than what people expect when quoting them for a commissioned work. To these people, it seems from an artist's perspective they would get a "deal" if they know you or an acquaintance. If they took the time to understand why I ask the prices I do, than there would be less confusion and frustration over this particular dilemma.

First of all, when quoting a price or determining a price, one has to think about the materials it would take to create the artwork in question. Depending on the cost of those materials, it will affect the price of the artwork. Materials also do not include just paint but also the canvas, stretcher bar, gesso, other mixed media such as plaster, glitter, stucco, metal leafing....I am sure you get the idea.

The other thing to also consider is how well known an artist is. Chances are, if the artist is just starting off and getting their name out there, they will not be charging as much as an artist who has been producing artwork for over 20 years and is well established. These artists did not become famous over night but fought to get their names out there in the art world. They had exhibitions in small galleries, submitted proposals and have been rejected by various juries and yet this did not discourage them to become who they are today.

Another thing that determines an artworks price is the amount of time spent on their piece in order to create it. The rule of thumb for this particular area is if you are just starting out as an artist, you times the amount of hours spent on the piece by the minimum wage in the area you are residing. If you are a well established artist, that would depend on the hours, plus your establishment in the community, plus where you have shown. Complicated.....maybe a just a tad. In the end, the artist will get paid for what they have created.

You also have to factor in the travel expense as well. If you want the artist to deliver the artwork to you, you better be prepared to compensate them for their time and out of pocket money it would take to get it to yourself. The is gas, wear and tear on the vehicle or in some cases, the artist has to ship it over seas in order for the artwork to get to its final destination.

All in all, artists are working individuals just as much as you and the person next to you. If you do not like the price quoted to yourself, by all means Walmart has some nice pieces but to be honest, they sure are not one of a kind like an original work of art from an artist. We have bills to pay, lives to live and artwork to be created.

Do not be deterred from the asking price of the artwork we are asking or your are commissioning us to create. You have to factor in what you would like, be patient with us as we create it and be prepared to pay for it in the end.

I have had a few friends that love my work and have always asked what I want for it. There are times when they buy it right then and there, obviously with a small discount as I cherish these individuals in my life, and other times they are reluctant to pay for an artwork.....with the disheartening realization it is out of their price range.

There are other times when I have quoted a price and the response was, "I'll give you $100, not $1200". These kind of responses are inconsiderate and these people do not realize the passion, time, effort, sleepless nights of wondering how to pull the piece together and not give up on it, as well as my personal ideas that go into the piece. I usually just walk away from these people as they are not realistic and do not have an appreciation for the art world.

All in all, the art world can be a harsh place when it comes to buying and selling art. BE PATIENT! Do not get frustrated with inconsiderate people. If they want to know why the price, by all means...enlighten these individuals.

In the end, there are more factors that come into dealing with determining a price for your art. These are just some of my experiences and I hope these few tips help you out.

HAPPY ST.PADDY'S DAY!!

If you are interested in purchasing any of these pieces or have any questions, email me and I will be happy to provide any feedback that I can. You can contact me either at: n.myker@gmail.com or nicole.m@live.ca All images copyright @ Nicole Myker (artist)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page